Mark Shaw

Mark Shaw

Mark Shaw (*25.06, 1921, New York – † 26.01.1969) Citywas a renowned American photographer. He began his career as a fashion and advertising photographer for prestigious magazines such as LIFE and Harper’s Bazaar. Shaw was known for his innovative style and ability to capture celebrities and fashion uniquely.

His breakthrough came in 1959 when he had the opportunity to photograph Jacqueline and John F. Kennedy for LIFE. This work brought him international recognition and led to a close friendship with the Kennedys. Shaw became their unofficial family photographer, documenting important moments of their lives.

Mark Shaw also photographed other famous personalities of the 1950s, including Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, and Marlon Brando. His images were characterized by a certain intimacy and naturalness that portrayed his subjects in an authentic light.

His career ended prematurely when he unexpectedly passed away in 1969 at only 47. Mark Shaw left an impressive legacy in the world of photography.

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive invitations to exclusive events, information about our artists and exhibitions as well as exclusive artwork releases.

Mark Shaw

Mark Shaw

Mark Shaw (*2.06, 1921, New York – † 26.01.1969) war ein renommierter amerikanischer Fotograf. Er begann seine Karriere als Mode- und Werbefotograf und arbeitete für namhafte Zeitschriften wie LIFE und Harper’s Bazaar. Shaw war bekannt für seinen innovativen Stil und seine Fähigkeit, Prominente und Mode auf einzigartige Weise einzufangen.

Sein Durchbruch kam, als er 1959 die Gelegenheit bekam, Jacqueline und John F. Kennedy für LIFE zu fotografieren. Diese Arbeit machte ihn international bekannt und führte zu einer engen Freundschaft mit den Kennedys. Shaw wurde ihr inoffizieller Familienfotograf und dokumentierte wichtige Momente ihres Lebens.

Mark Shaw fotografierte auch andere berühmte Persönlichkeiten der 1950er Jahre, darunter Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly und Marlon Brando. Seine Bilder zeichneten sich durch eine gewisse Intimität und Natürlichkeit aus, die seine Subjekte in einem authentischen Licht zeigten.

Shaw’s Karriere endete tragischerweise sehr früh, als er im Jahr 1969 im Alter von nur 47 Jahren unerwartet verstarb. Mark Shaw hinterließ ein beeindruckendes Erbe in der Welt der Fotografie.

 

Newsletter abonnieren

Unser Collectors Mailing informiert Sie regelmäßig über unsere Ausstellungen, Künstler und exklusive Werke.