Arthur Elgort

11.12.2021 – 29.01.2022

CAMERA WORK Gallery is pleased to present the exhibition »Arthur Elgort« starting on December 11, 2021. The exhibition features more than 40 photographic works – among them large-sized portraits. They give an insight into the creative work of the internationally renowned photographer, who changed the genre of fashion photography with his particular style from the beginning of the 1970s. This is the artist’s first solo exhibition in Germany.

List of works
Arthur Elgort

Arthur Elgort (*1940 in New York) attended Stuyvesant High School and then went on to study painting at Hunter College. From early on, he realized that he wanted to express himself artistically in a more diverse way and therefore he decided to take a chance on photography. This turned into a passion, and he had found his true talent. Soon ager, in 1971, he made his debut in British »Vogue«. With that he gained a permanent place in the world of fashion photography, which he has influenced substantially during is 50-year-long career up to the present day.

Arthur Elgort brought a breath of fresh air to the staged and stiff studio shoots of the early 1970s. Channeling the idea of the Impressionists, the former painting student encouraged his models to move freely creating a snapshot aesthetic outside in the »real world«. which was beyond the standard of the day. The exhibition shows lively models with less make-up in natural lighting, portrayed by Arthur Elgort with his unmistakable personal style. Among them are world-famous photographs of fashion icons and supermodels such as Kate Moss, Christy Turlington, Helena Christensen, Cindy Crawford, Claudia Schiffer, Gia, Linda Evangelista, and Beverly Johnson.

Besides these iconic portraits, the exhibition gives an insight into Arthur Elgort’s versatility as a photo artist, in which context his passionate photographic work on classical ballet took place and in which intriguingly relaxed portraits of the Rolling Stones and their world-renowned lead singer Mick Jagger were taken.

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive invitations to exclusive events, information about our artists and exhibitions as well as exclusive artwork releases.

Arthur Elgort

11.12.2021 – 29.01.2022

Die Galerie CAMERA WORK präsentiert ab dem 11. Dezember 2021 die Ausstellung »Arthur Elgort«, die mit mehr als 40, teils großformatigen Arbeiten des international renommierten Fotografen zeigt, wie dieser das Genre der Modefotografie ab den frühen 1970er Jahren stilprägend verändert hat. Es ist die erste Einzelausstellung von Arthur Elgort in Deutschland. 

Exposé
Arthur Elgort

Arthur Elgort (*1940 in New York) besuchte die Stuyvesant High School und studierte im Anschluss Malerei am Hunter College. Dort stellte er fest, dass er sich künstlerisch mannigfacher ausdrücken wolle; es folgte die Auseinandersetzung mit Fotografie. Diese mündete in die Entdeckung von Talent und Leidenschaft für das künstlerische Medium, und kurz darauf, 1971, debütierte Arthur Elgort als Fotograf in der britischen »Vogue«. Damit schuf er sich einen bleibenden Platz in der Welt der Modefotografie und beeinflusst diese in seiner nunmehr 50-jährigen Laufbahn bis heute maßgeblich.

Arthur Elgort brachte zu Beginn der 1970er Jahre frischen Wind in die bis dahin starre Studiowelt der Modeshootings. Ganz im Zeichen der Impressionisten, ermutigte der einstige Malerei-Student die Models frei zu agieren und schuf mit ihnen draußen in der »wirklichen Welt« eine Schnappschuss-Ästhetik jenseits der zu der Zeit gegenwärtigen Norm. Die Ausstellung zeigt eben jene lebendigen Models, die mit wenig Make-up und in natürlichem Licht von Arthur Elgort in seiner ganz unverkennbaren Handschrift porträtiert wurden. Darunter sind mehrere weltbekannte Motive von Modeikonen und Supermodels wie Kate Moss, Christy Turlington, Helena Christensen, Cindy Crawford, Claudia Schiffer, Gia, Linda Evangelista und Beverly Johnson.

Neben diesen ikonischen Arbeiten, bietet die Ausstellung zudem Einblicke in Arthur Elgorts bestechende Vielseitigkeit als Fotokünstler, in deren Rahmen eine leidenschaftliche fotografische Auseinandersetzung mit dem klassischen Ballett erfolgte und verblüffend gelöste Künstlerporträts mit den Rolling Stones und ihrem weltberühmten Frontmann Mick Jagger entstanden.

Newsletter abonnieren

Unser Collectors Mailing informiert Sie regelmäßig über unsere Ausstellungen, Künstler und exklusive Werke.