Harry Benson

Harry Benson

The Scotland-born Harry Benson (*1929 in Glasgow) began his career in the early 1960s as a photographer for LIFE Magazine in London and later gained worldwide fame for his pictures of the Beatles on their first US tour.

Throughout his career, Benson has photographed numerous prominent personalities, including politicians such as presidents, kings, and queens, as well as Hollywood stars and musicians. He was present when Robert F. Kennedy was assassinated in Los Angeles and also captured other historical events such as the fall of the Berlin Wall and September 11, 2001.

In 2017, Harry received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Center of Photography (ICP) in New York and was inducted into the International Photography Hall of Fame in St. Louis in the same year.

With over 40 solo exhibitions and 17 published books, including »The Beatles on the Road 1964–1966« and »Persons of Interest«, Harry’s latest book, »Paul« was released in 2022 by TASCHEN to commemorate Paul McCartney’s 80th birthday.

Collections

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery, Washington D.C.

The National Portrait Gallery, Edinburgh, Scotland

The Addison Gallery of American Art, Andover, MA.

The Scottish Parliament Collection, Edinburgh

Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth, Hanover, NH

The International Photography Hall of Fame, St. Louis

The University Collections, St. Andrews, Scotland

The Hearst Collection, New York City

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive invitations to exclusive events, information about our artists and exhibitions as well as exclusive artwork releases.

Harry Benson

Harry Benson

Harry Benson (*1929 in Glasgow) begann seine Karriere in den frühen 60er Jahren als Fotograf für das »LIFE Magazine« in London und wurde später für seine Bilder der Beatles auf ihrer ersten US-Tournee weltbekannt.

Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat Benson zahlreiche prominente Persönlichkeiten fotografiert, darunter Politiker wie Präsidenten, Könige und Königinnen sowie Hollywood-Stars und Musiker. Er war hautnah dabei, als Robert F. Kennedy in Los Angeles erschossen wurde, und fotografierte auch andere historische Ereignisse wie den Fall der Berliner Mauer und den 11. September 2001.

Im Jahr 2017 erhielt Harry den »Lifetime Achievement Award« vom Internation Center of Photography (ICP) in New York und wurde im selben Jahr in die International Photography Hall of Fame in St. Louis aufgenommen.

Mit über 40 Einzelausstellungen und 17 veröffentlichten Büchern, darunter »The Beatles on the Road 1964–1966« 1964–1966 und »Persons of Interest«, erschien Harrys neuestes Buch »Paul« 2022 bei TASCHEN anlässlich des 80. Geburtstags von Paul McCartney.

Sammlungen

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery, Washington D.C.

The National Portrait Gallery, Edinburgh, Scotland

The Addison Gallery of American Art, Andover, MA.

The Scottish Parliament Collection, Edinburgh

Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth, Hanover, NH

The International Photography Hall of Fame, St. Louis

The University Collections, St. Andrews, Scotland

The Hearst Collection, New York City

The World Chess Hall of Fame, St. Louis

Newsletter abonnieren

Unser Collectors Mailing informiert Sie regelmäßig über unsere Ausstellungen, Künstler und exklusive Werke.