Chris Levine

Chris Levine

Chris Levine is a contemporary artist with an expansive and experimental practice. His multi-disciplinary approach harnesses a diverse array of technology with the unyielding intention of revealing the ways in which light is fundamental to human experience. He is driven by a deep-rooted desire to expand perception and sensitively guide the viewer to a meditative engagement with the present moment. His message and his language is light. This spiritually motivated and philosophical approach has allowed him to navigate unchartered territory in new media: he has been at the forefront of exploring how technologies such as holograms and lasers can contribute to the story of art and creative endeavours.

Levine’s groundbreaking light-based body of work depicting Queen Elizabeth II is known internationally. In an age of image overload, the artist cut through the noise to make Lightness of Being, a portrait of singular importance. Although he has shown in museums and exhibitions dedicated to portraiture. globally, Levine is not a portrait artist in the traditional sense. At the heart of Levine’s practice are his immersive light installations which he has endeavoured to take out of the white cube environment into a real-world, mass participatory experience. He has created site-specific and large-scale outdoor light installations in sites as diverse as Durham Cathedral to Hobart Tasmania, at Radio City Hall in New York and on the stage at Glastonbury. Continually pushing the boundaries of what light art can do and how it can have a transformative effect on the viewer, his singular ideology pulls the viewer into a greater consciousness through art.

Levine’s work has been included in institutional group exhibitions internationally including: »Other Worldy« at The Museum of Arts and Design in New York, 2011; Digital Darkroom Exhibition at The Annenberg Foundation in Los Angeles 2012; »Queen Art and Image«, The National Portrait Gallery, London; 2012 which traveled to National Museum, Cardiff; National Gallery, Scotland; National Museum, Belfast; »Out Of Focus: Photography«, Saatchi Gallery, London, 2012; »Hypervisual 1.2«, a travelling exhibition with the British Council which was shown in 12 countries worldwide.

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive invitations to exclusive events, information about our artists and exhibitions as well as exclusive artwork releases.

Chris Levine

Chris Levine

Chris Levine, der sich selbst als Lichtkünstler versteht, ist ein zeitgenössischer Künstler mit einer faszinierend breit gefächerten und experimentellen Arbeitsweise. Sein multidisziplinärer Ansatz vereint eine Vielzahl von Technologien mit dem klaren Ziel, die fundamentale Bedeutung des Lichts für die menschliche Erfahrung aufzuzeigen. Sein Antrieb wurzelt tief in dem Wunsch, die Wahrnehmung zu erweitern und den Betrachter behutsam zu einer meditativen Auseinandersetzung mit dem gegenwärtigen Moment zu lenken. Seine Botschaft und sein Ausdruck finden ihre Essenz im Licht. Diese spirituell geprägte und philosophische Herangehensweise ermöglicht es ihm, in bislang unerschlossene Gebiete der neuen Medien vorzudringen: Er steht an vorderster Front in der Erforschung der Möglichkeiten, wie Technologien wie Hologramme und Laser zur Geschichte der Kunst und kreativen Bestrebungen beitragen können.

Levines wegweisende, auf Licht basierende Werkreihe, die Queen Elizabeth II darstellt, ist international bekannt. In einer Zeit, die von Bildüberflutung geprägt ist, durchbrach der Künstler den Lärm, um „Lightness of Being“ zu schaffen – ein Porträt von herausragender Bedeutung. Obwohl er in Museen und Ausstellungen, die der Porträtmalerei gewidmet sind, auf der ganzen Welt präsent war, ist Levine kein Porträtkünstler im herkömmlichen Sinne. Im Zentrum von Levines Schaffen stehen seine immersiven Lichtinstallationen, die er aus der sterilen Umgebung des klassischen Ausstellungsraums herausführt, um sie zu einer erlebbaren, partizipativen Erfahrung in der realen Welt zu machen. Er hat ortsspezifische und monumentale Lichtinstallationen an den verschiedensten Orten geschaffen, von der Durham Cathedral in Hobart, Tasmanien, bis hin zur Radio City Hall in New York und der Bühne des Glastonbury Festivals. Indem er stetig die Grenzen dessen ausreizt, was Lichtkunst bewirken kann und wie sie eine transformative Wirkung auf den Betrachter haben kann, zieht seine einzigartige Ideologie den Betrachter durch die Kunst in ein erweitertes Bewusstsein.

Levines Arbeiten wurden in internationalen Gruppenausstellungen in angesehenen Institutionen gezeigt, darunter „Other Worldly“ im Museum of Arts and Design in New York 2011; die Digital Darkroom Exhibition in der Annenberg Foundation in Los Angeles 2012; „Queen Art and Image“ in der National Portrait Gallery, London, 2012, das nach National Museum, Cardiff; National Gallery, Scotland; National Museum, Belfast reiste; „Out Of Focus: Photography“ in der Saatchi Gallery, London, 2012; „Hypervisual 1.2“, eine reisende Ausstellung des British Council, die in 12 Ländern weltweit präsentiert wurde.

Newsletter abonnieren

Unser Collectors Mailing informiert Sie regelmäßig über unsere Ausstellungen, Künstler und exklusive Werke.