25 Years CAMERA WORK

13.08.2022 - 01.10.2022

One of the world’s leading and oldest photo art galleries turns 25. On this occasion, we invite you on a journey through a quarter century of exhibition history at CAMERA WORK Gallery. In doing so, CAMERA WORK also pays homage to those artists whose careers the gallery has been able to decisively accompany and shape for many years. Outstanding positions of 25 renowned photographers are presented in the exhibition »25 Years CAMERA WORK« — curated by Philippe Garner, one of the most internationally recognized experts in the field of photography.

With his selection for »25 Years CAMERA WORK,« Philippe Garner highlights these evengul years with now over 200 exhibitions of internationally renowned artists, and how the development of photographic art is connected with CAMERA WORK’s history. In addition to iconic works from the history of photography by Diane Arbus, Richard Avedon, Peter Beard, Peter Lindbergh, Helmut Newton, Irving Penn, and Man Ray, the exhibition also features works by contemporary artists who, together with CAMERA WORK, have become the world’s most successful representatives of their photographic artistic fields; these include David Drebin, Russell James, Eugenio Recuenco, Martin Schoeller, and Christian Tagliavini.

Exhibited artists

The following 25 artists are exhibited: Diane Arbus, Richard Avedon, Peter Beard, Thomas Billhardt, Nick Brandt, Michel Comte, Patrick Demarchelier, David Drebin, William Eggleston, Hans Feurer, Jean-Baptiste Huynh, Peter Lindbergh, Man Ray, Helmut Newton, Irving Penn, Robert Polidori, Eugenio Recuenco, Bettina Rheims, Leni Riefenstahl, Herb Ritts, Martin Schoeller, Jeanloup Sieff, Christian Tagliavini, and David Yarrow.

Overview of works

UPCOMING

25 Years CAMERA WORK

13.08.2022 - 01.10.2022

Eine der weltweit führenden und zugleich ältesten Fotokunstgalerien wird 25. Zu diesem Anlass laden wir auf eine Reise durch ein Vierteljahrhundert Ausstellungshistorie der Galerie CAMERA WORK ein. Damit huldigt CAMERA WORK auch jenen Künstlern, deren Werdegang die Galerie seit vielen Jahren entscheidend begleiten und prägen darf. Herausragende Positionen von 25 namhaften Künstlern werden in der Ausstellung »25 Years CAMERA WORK« präsentiert – kuratiert von Philippe Garner, einem der international anerkanntesten Experten für Fotografie.

Mit seiner Auswahl zu »25 Years CAMERA WORK« unterstreicht Philippe Garner, welche Highlights jene ereignisreichen Jahre der Galerie mit nunmehr über 200 Ausstellungen international renommierter Künstler hervorgebracht haben und wie die Entwicklung der Fotokunst mit der Geschichte von CAMERA WORK verbunden ist. Neben ikonischen Werken der Fotografiegeschichte von Diane Arbus, Richard Avedon, Peter Beard, Peter Lindbergh, Helmut Newton, Irving Penn und Man Ray zeigt die Ausstellung auch Arbeiten zeitgenössischer Künstler, die sich gemeinsam mit CAMERA WORK zu den weltweit erfolgreichsten Vertretern ihres fotokünstlerischen Bereichs entwickeln konnten. Dazu zählen unter anderem David Drebin, Russell James, Eugenio Recuenco, Martin Schoeller und Christian Tagliavini.

Künstlerinnen und Künstler in der Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung zeigt Masterworks von Diane Arbus, Richard Avedon, Peter Beard, Thomas Billhardt, Nick Brandt, Michel Comte, Patrick Demarchelier, David Drebin, William Eggleston, Hans Feurer, Jean-Baptiste Huynh, Peter Lindbergh, Man Ray, Helmut Newton, Irving Penn, Robert Polidori, Eugenio Recuenco, Bettina Rheims, Leni Riefenstahl, Herb Ritts, Martin Schoeller, Jeanloup Sieff, Christian Tagliavini und David Yarrow.

Exposé bestellen